top of page

Bite Beauty Agave Kisses Set


It's that time of year again - holiday gift set season! I've been eyeing Bite Beauty's Agave lip treatments for awhile now but didn't want to dish out the money to buy all three and I couldn't decide which product I wanted to try the most. This year they came out with a three piece kit which includes a travel size of the balm, scrub, and mask. The kit costs $20 at Sephora ($32 value). Honestly, I've been loving this kit and am so happy I purchased it.

Before I mention which products I like best, which ones I would repurchase, etc., I want to take a minute to talk about the ingredients list. Bite Beauty is marketed as being one of the more natural brands at Sephora and comparatively speaking, yes, they are. Their products are handcrafted in Toronto and are made from food-grade or good-enough-to-eat ingredients. However, there are a few ingredients that are potentially questionable.

For starters, both the lip balm and lip mask have Glyceryl Rosinate. This is included to condition the skin and form a film. EWG rates it as a 6 which is considered moderately toxic. I looked into this further and it seems the biggest concern is potential contamination from residual rosin which can be toxic to the immune and respiratory systems. Rosin is a solid form of resin obtained from pines and other plants. It's the same stuff that's used to treat the strings on string instruments. Personally, there are too many ifs regarding the toxicity of this ingredient that it doesn't pose a big problem in my book.

All three products also include "Flavor" which we know can mean anything. The scrub contains Sodium Metabisulfite as the last ingredient which is a preservative and may have negative effects internally and externally.

Overall, the ingredient lists aren't horrible by any means. There are many plant oils and extracts. Are they the most natural lip treatments? Probably not. Are they still pretty good though? Absolutely.

Okay, now that we have that out of the way, let's hop into what each product does!

Let's start with the Agave Sugar Lip Scrub. The Oils, Brown Sugar, Pineapple Enzymes, and Agave Syrup clean, exfoliate, and condition the lips. This product has mixed reviews online but I really love it. You only need a tiny amount so this sample jar will last you awhile. To use the scrub you simply massage a little bit onto your lips, add a little water until it appears milky and then lightly rinse off the sugar. My lips feel super nourished after using this product. I've used this scrub a couple times now when my lips have felt flaky though honestly, since I've been using the other two products every day I really haven't needed to exfoliate.

Size: 0.26 oz full size; 0.18 oz travel size (shown here)

Price: $18 for full size at Sephora

Pros:

↠ Smells like agave

↠ Mostly natural ingredients

↠ Moisturizing and nourishing

↠ Exfoliating

↠ No sticky residue, only smooth, supple lips

↠ Affordable

↠ A little goes a long way

↠ Free of parabens, phthalates, sulfates

Cons:

↠ Flavor and Sodium Metabisulfite are questionable ingredients

Would I repurchase? Yes

Next up we have the Agave Lip Balm. The Agave and Madagascan Vanilla make this lip balm very nourishing and smell so good you'll want to eat it. I've been using this product every day since I got it and have really been liking it. It's thicker than your normal lip balm meaning it actually stays on your lips. I really only have to apply it after eating. It feels very moisturizing. My only gripe about this product is that the travel size is a third of the size of the full size whereas the scrub was over two-thirds the size of the full size product. I'm nearly out of the balm and I've only had it for about a month. I do feel like it works but it's on the pricey side for an every day lip balm.

Size: 0.15 oz full size; 0.05 oz travel size (shown here)

Price: $18 for full size at Sephora

Pros:

↠ Smells like agave and vanilla

↠ Mostly natural ingredients

↠ Moisturizing and nourishing

↠ Thicker than your typical lip balm

↠ Free of parabens, phthalates, sulfates

Cons:

↠ Flavor and Glyceryl Rosinate are questionable ingredients

↠ On the pricey side for an every day lip balm

Would I repurchase? Probably not

Lastly we have the Agave Lip Mask. This is for those of you who need a really heavy duty lip treatment. With key ingredients like Agave Nectar, Jojoba Oil, Vanilla, and Trans-resveratrol, your lips will be left feeling smooth and hydrated. I've been applying a small amount of this every night right before bed. A little goes a long way as it's super thick. I definitely enjoy using this as a night-time mask and think it would probably be a little too heavy for daytime. It has been so good to combat these (literal) freezing temps here in PA!

Size: 0.52 oz full size; 0.18 oz travel size (shown here)

Price: $26 for full size at Sephora

Pros:

↠ Smells like agave and vanilla

↠ Mostly natural ingredients

↠ Very moisturizing and nourishing

↠ Relatively affordable

↠ A little goes a long way

↠ Free of parabens, phthalates, sulfates

Cons:

↠ Flavor and Glyceryl Rosinate are questionable ingredients

Would I repurchase? Yes

If you're interested in this kit I would highly recommend snatching it up. It's limited edition for the holiday season and has been in and out of stock so hurry!

Here are my concluding thoughts: I like all three products but would probably only repurchase the mask and the scrub. If you haven't tried any of these products yet I would still recommend buying the kit so you can try all three and decide for yourself what works for you.

What products have you been loving this winter season?

bottom of page