top of page

Beauty in the Raw Skincare Launch


The holidays are here, the weather is getting colder, and your skin is probably getting drier. Even if you have oily skin like me, it's important to make sure your skin is getting that extra boost of moisture in the winter months. If you're into natural skincare you may have noticed Manuka Honey popping up as an ingredient in some cleansers. I've been intrigued by these products but honestly, I was a little daunted at the thought of putting something so heavy and sticky on my face. Wouldn't that make my oil even worse and clog my pores? I kept reading all the great things honey could do for your skin. Ironically it's antibacterial (meaning it's great for acne), it's a natural humectant (meaning it helps lock in moisturize), and it's full of antioxidants (meaning it helps prevent aging).

In October of this year, Beauty in the Raw launched their first product - a Raw Manuka Honey Cleanser. I was so excited when they reached out to me to see if I'd be interested in trying a sample. This cleanser is as simple as you can get. It has only four ingredients! Yes, FOUR ingredients: Raw Manuka Honey, Organic Argan Oil, Organic Jojoba Oil, and Organic Ceylon Cinnamon. The full size 5.5 oz glass jar retails for $40 and come with a 100% natural Birchwood spoon. The cleanser is handmade to order in Rhode Island and free of parabens, phthalates, synthetic fragrance, artificial colors and preservatives. All ingredients are non-toxic, plant-based, and food grade. The Manuka Honey is actually sourced from the flowers and pollen of the Manuka bush in New Zealand.

As I mentioned earlier, honey is great at preventing and healing acne, moisturizing the skin, and keeping the skin looking youthful and radiant. Manuka Honey in particular is shown to be more effective than antibiotics in the treatment of serious, hard-to-heal skin infections. This cleanser is awesome for all skin types, even those suffering from eczema, psoriasis, and acne scaring.

When my sample came in the mail I could tell it was packaged with care. Included was a card explaining a little more about the product and how to use it. I also love the personal touch of the hand written tag tied to the jar showing when it was made. Ever since I got this cleanser, I've been using it day and night. It smells just how you would expect, like honey! It's wonderful. I first wet my face and then apply a little dab of the cleanser on my cheeks, nose, chin, and forehead. Each time I probably use about a teaspoon in total, maybe a little less. I then gently massage the cleanser into my skin. It literally melts away. It's crazy! It also feels slightly exfoliating as there are tiny bits of what I'm guessing are part of the Manuka Honey plant. I would by no means call this an exfoliating cleanser but I still thought this was worth mentioning. I always thought a honey cleanser would feel thick and leave a residue. Not this one! I leave it on for about five minutes until it starts to feel slightly tacky. You can leave it on for even longer and use it like a mask if you'd like. It's not meant to remove makeup so keep that in mind. After five minutes has passed I rinse my face with water, pat it dry, and continue with my usual skin care routine.

This cleanser is awesome. I truly can't say enough good things about it. I love it as much as my Luminance Delicate Facial Cleanser which is saying something because that cleanser is life changing! My skin feels more hydrated and less irritated when I use this cleanser and I do think it has helped my acne. I would like to use this cleanser more to see how it helps with some of my acne scars as I can't say I noticed a difference in those just yet. Honestly, whether you have oily skin, dry skin, combo skin, a skin condition, seriously, each and every one of you needs to try this cleanser. Since it doesn't feel heavy on the skin this is something I would comfortably use all year round though it's especially good in the winter.

I love supporting small natural companies and am forever grateful that Beauty in the Raw reached out to me. They're working on some more awesome products so keep your eyes peeled for that in the future! I know I will.

Size: 5.5 oz (2 oz sample jar shown in photos)

Pros:

↠ Smells like honey

↠ Helps cure and prevent acne

↠ Very simple ingredients - only four!

↠ Moisturizing and nourishing

↠ Packed with antioxidants that help prevent aging

↠ It's like a mini-mask twice a day

↠ No sticky residue

↠ Feels lightweight on the skin

↠ Handmade to order in the USA

↠ Great for all skin types

↠ Free of parabens, phthalates, synthetic fragrance, artificial colors and preservatives

↠ All ingredients are non-toxic, plant-based, and food grade

Cons:

↠ On the expensive side (but honestly, I think it's so worth it for the quality)

Would I repurchase? Yes, yes, yes!

Disclaimer: This sample jar was sent to me to try and review though this is not a sponsored post.

bottom of page