top of page

Luminance Skincare Final Review

You may recall a blog post I wrote a couple months ago reviewing the Luminance Skincare sample kit which includes a facial cleanser, toner, and moisturizer. Head on over to that post for an overview of how Luminance was founded and what they're all about. In that review I had mixed feelings and needed some time to let the products work their magic. Let me start off by saying this brand creates incredible, life changing products!

As promised, I have included (unedited) before and after photos so you can all see the difference these products have made. I only took photos when I noticed a change so you'll see the days I took photos are a little erratic. I started out with mild acne, uneven skin tone, enlarged pores, oily skin, and redness especially under my eyes and on my nose. I didn't notice any change until two weeks in. By day 15 my acne had mostly subsided and my redness was starting to diminish. A few days later I noticed my skin tone was starting to even out and my pores were much smaller. My skin felt smoother and I had no acne. In days 28 and 29 you'll notice I had a little acne popping up on my chin and some minimal redness. I included these to show that I do still occasionally have some days like this. This is likely caused by hormonal changes, diet, and/or stress. To be honest, the vast majority of the time my skin looks like it did on day 19 which is amazing. I feel comfortable in my skin and am confident wearing very minimal foundation. I still struggle with oily skin and didn't notice a difference in the amount of sebum my skin produces but know that this can be due to a variety of different factors. Want to know what Luminance products are my faves? Keep scrolling.

Before I get into which products I liked more than others I want to point out that I don't hate or strongly dislike any of the products. I feel that some worked wonders for my skin and others might be better suited for dryer skin types.

Here are my absolute favorites (from left to right). Please note that some of these products are sold in different sizes though I'm only mentioning those shown in the photos:

Rosewater Toner

This toner should be used after washing your face to pH balance your skin. It is made of 100% pure rosewater and feels so refreshing. A little goes a long way and the quality is outstanding. I have used three spritzes of this toner twice a day since mid-July and am just now below the top line of the label. Love it!

Size: 4 oz

Price: $19.80

Pros:

↠ pH balances the skin

↠ Feels refreshing

↠ Smells like a bouquet of roses

↠ Sinks into the skin quickly

↠ Helps thicker moisturizers sink in beautifully

Cons:

↠ None

Would I repurchase? Absolutely!

Chamomile Eye Cream

This eye cream, as you might expect, smells just like chamomile tea which I find quite relaxing. I'm lucky enough to have never really had problems with puffiness or dark circles but I still wanted to try this product as I do enjoy applying eye creams. It includes herbal extractions like Calendula, Honeysuckle, Ginko, Chickweed and Holy Basil to increase blood circulation; oils like Jojoba, Kukui, Meadow Foam, and Avocado to enhance hydration; and German Blue Chamomile essential oil which acts as a muscle relaxant reducing fine lines, inflammation, and dark circles.

Size: 1 oz

Price: $24.20

Pros:

↠ Smells like Chamomile tea

↠ Lightweight

↠ Nourishing

↠ Sinks into the skin quickly

Cons:

↠ The pump squirts out too much product so I end up rubbing the excess into my hands. A smaller pump or different packaging entirely would solve this issue.

Would I repurchase? Despite the pump, yes!

Delicate Facial Cleanser

If you read my other post you'll remember I wasn't sure about this cleanser. Now, I don't know what I would do without it! When using the sample it turns out I wasn't using enough product or enough water. This is important if you want to avoid feeling like there's reside left over on your skin. I wet my face until it is dripping with water then shake the bottle and apply three pumps of this cleanser twice a day. My face always feels very clean, calm, and nourished after using this product.

Size: 4 oz

Price: $19.80

Pros:

↠ Lightweight, effective cleanser

↠ Leaves skin feeling moisturized, not stripped

Cons:

↠ None

Would I repurchase? Absolutely!

Clarifying Mask

The first time I used this mask I was immediately reminded of a spa. It smells incredibly good and feels very soothing on the skin. Various essential oils included in this mask help to kill bacteria, remove impurities, and eliminate excess oil. Meadow Foam Oil is also included to reduce inflammation and moisturize the skin.

Size: 1 oz

Price: $19.80

Pros:

↠ Smells like a spa

↠ Feels soothing and refreshing

↠ You can feel it working

↠ Leaves skin feeling calm and clean

Cons:

↠ None

Would I repurchase? Yes!

Okay, now for the products that I liked to some extent but ultimately aren't the most ideal for me (from left to right):

Organic Sun Screen

The main draw for me to this sunscreen is that it uses Red Raspberry Seed Oil, not chemicals, to combat UVA and UVB rays. This means it doesn't leave you with a white cast like most sunscreens do. Red Raspberry Seed Oil screens more than 98% UVA and UVB rays (about SPF 35). With my oily skin, even though I applied a thin layer, this product was a little too heavy for me. I have, however, been applying one pump of this oil to my arms whenever I know I'll be outside and have really enjoyed using it that way. Since it is pricey, I'll continue trying other sunscreens for the face and body, but it's not a bad product. If you have drier skin you may love this for the face. I haven't had any issues with sun burn.

Size: 2 oz

Price: $28.00

Pros:

↠ Does not leave a white cast

↠ Moisturizes the skin

↠ Protects from UVA and UVB rays

Cons:

↠ Expensive

↠ Leaves skin looking oily

Would I repurchase? Possibly for use on my body but not for my face

Hydration Moisturizer

You may recall from my review on the sample kit that I thought the Deep Hydration moisturizer was too thick for my skin, at least in the summertime. Kim was kind enough to send me a jar of Hydration as it's a lighter formula. While I do enjoy this one more than Deep Hydration, I still find it to be heavy for daytime. I enjoy using this as a nighttime moisturizer over Sunday Riley Luna Oil. A little goes a very long way. It is formulated with Meadow Foam Oil which acts as an anti-inflammatory, Rose Water, Borage Oil, Argan Oil, and a variety of other oils.

Size: 2 oz

Price: $29.70

Pros:

↠ Moisturizes the skin

↠ A very small amount is needed to cover the face

Cons:

↠ Takes awhile to sink in

↠ Feels heavy on the skin

Would I repurchase? Possibly as a nighttime or winter moisturizer

Acne Serum

I'm a little surprised I'm not as in love with this serum as I thought I would be. It is formulated with Tea Tree Oil to prevent bacterial growth, Matcha Tea to provide antioxidant benefits, Borage Oil to dissolve sebum, Rose Water to balance pH, and a few other ingredients. Unfortunately when using this I still had acne pop up and linger for, in some cases, weeks at a time. I know a lot of people love this product and I'm wondering if I maybe got a bad one. Mine is darker green in color than the others I have seen online. This certainly doesn't make my skin look worse but I don't know how much it's doing for me.

Size: 1 oz

Price: $24.20

Pros:

↠ Smells like Tea Tree

↠ Absorbs into the skin quickly

Cons:

↠ Didn't help minimize or prevent my acne

↠ Didn't appear to minimize sebum production

Would I repurchase? Probably not

Cream Cleanser

For those of you who love cream cleansers, this one's for you. It works just as well as the Delicate Facial Cleanser, it's simply a different consistency. Despite the fact that it's a cream it still feels very light on the skin and dissolves quickly. I personally just prefer the delicate cleanser over this one because of the texture and because it lathers slightly more. Ultimately it's personal preference. They're both wonderful products.

Size: 4 oz

Price: $23.10

Pros:

↠ Lightweight, effective cleanser

↠ Leaves skin feeling moisturized, not stripped

Cons:

↠ None

Would I repurchase? Possibly though I prefer the Delicate Facial Cleanser

I'd love to hear from you guys. Have you tried Luminance Skincare yet? If not, go on over to their website and order a sample kit. It's free except for shipping which is really reasonable. What product(s) intrigue you the most? I'm definitely excited to try more from them!

bottom of page